... Lord Jesus Christ,Son of God, have mercy on me the sinner-Κύριε Ιησού Χριστέ,Υιέ Θεού, ελέησόν με τον αμαρτωλό...

Τετάρτη, 13 Ιουλίου 2011

The Fasting Periods of the Orthodox Christian Church

Fasting Categories.

1.Category A. consists of abstaining, meats and Poultry products.
2.Category B. of Dairy products, (milk, yogurt, cheese etc…)
3.Category C. of Fish products.
4.Category D. of Wine and oil, includes cuttlefish, calamari, octopus etc…
5.Category E. of strict fasting, no oil in foods, boiled pulses, beans, macaroni etc…
The Church has set aside several days in the church calendar in which the faithful must fast.
These are stated below with their fasting category: -
Every Wednesday and Friday. (Cat. E).
b. Great Lent (from clean Monday till Holy Easter Saturday.)Cat. E. except Saturdays and Sundays which are Cat. D.
c. Apostles Fast. (from the Monday after Sunday of All Saints till 28th June. This consists Cat. D. Fasting except sat. And sun. where Cat. C is allowed.
d. The 15 Day fast of the Holy Virgin Mary. (1st August-14th August.) Cat. E. Except Sat and Sun. Cat. D.
The 40 day fast Pre-Christmas. (from 15th Nov. - 24th Dec. The Church states fasting from 15th Nov. - !7 Dec. can be Cat. C. Except of course Wednesdays and Fridays. But from 18th Dec-23Dec must be Cat. D.
f. Strict fasts (Cat. E.) have the following Days unless they fall on a Sat. or Sunday. They become Cat. D: -
5th January(Theophany’s eve).
29th August. (Beheading of St. John the Baptist).
14th September. (Holy Cross Day).
Non Fast Days in which fasting is not allowed are in these periods, even if they are Wednesdays and Fridays: -
The Days following Christmas (25th Dec. till 4th Jan).
First week of Triodion, week following Sunday of Pharisee and the Publican.
The week after Easter (Renewal Week).
The week after Pentecost. (Holy Spirit week).
Two Category Fasts.
Meatfare week. The week, two weeks before the start of Lent. (Cat. B. Fast). No meat.
Cheesefare week. Last week before Lent. (Cat. C. Fast). No Meat or Dairy products.
If a Major Feast Day or a Saint’s day fall on Fasting Periods, they change to as follows: -
25th March, Annunciation day
24th June. Birth of the Forerunner.
6th August. Transfiguration day
become Cat. C fasts, fish is allowed.
Also the following days fish is allowed even if they fall on a Wednesdays or Fridays. (Cat. C.): -
7th January. Forerunner’s gathering.
2nd February. Presentation of Christ.
29th June. St.’s Peter and Paul’s day.
15th August. Dormition of the most, holy Mother, of God.
8th September. Birth of the most holy Mother, of God.
14th November. Apostle Phillip.
21st November. The Entry into the temple of the most holy Mother, of God.
And also the Wednesday of Mid-Pentecost.
And the Wednesday before the Ascension of Christ (last day of the feast of Easter), these are also Cat. C.
The following dates become Cat. D. (wine and oil allowed), even if they fall on a Wednesday, a Friday or during fasting periods.
In the Month of: -
January, 11th, 16th, 17th, 20th, 22nd, 25th, 27th, 30th.
February, 8th, 10th, 11th, 17th, 24th.
March, 9th, 26th.
April, 23rd, 25th, 30th.
May, 2nd, 8th, 15th, 21st, 25th.
June, 8th, 11th, 30th.
July, 1st, 2nd, 17th, 20th, 22nd, 25th, 26th, 27th,
August: 31st.
September: 1st,6th,9th, 13th, 20th, 23rd, 26th.
October: 6th, 18th, 23rd, 26th.
November: 1st,8th,12th,13th,16th, 25th, 30.
December: 4th, 5th, 6th, 9th, 12th, 15th, 17th,20th.
All Wednesdays and Fridays in the period of Pentecost become Cat. D. Fasts.